A Cheese Board

I am not a cheese expert by any stretch of the imagination.  But I do like it when I’m eating it.  When it comes to making a cheese board for a dinner or party, it’s really easy, and it looks great with very little effort.  I recently made one such board this past Christmas time for a holiday party, that included a Brie, a Stilton, and a Beemster.  I usually go with three kinds of cheeses, two kinds of crackers, and one kind of fruit.  See some more useless suggestions below.

one such cheese board
a cheese board made for a Halloween party circa 2011

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 Cheeses – For the cheeses, I go with a cow’s milk, a goat’s milk, and a sheep’s milk.  I also try to go for varying textures (a hard cheese, a soft, cheese, and a blue cheese).

2 Crackers – Table Water Crackers are a good choice, and then I also grab a whole grain cracker.

1 Fruit – If pears or apples are in season, I go with them.  Grapes add good contrast in flavor and texture.  Figs or dried apricots can also be a good choice.

Don’t hesitate to ask the cheesemaster at your local grocery what kinds of fruits will pair with what kinds of cheeses.  They’re probably bored anyway.

Don’t forget to add a knife to the board.  Bottom line, cheese is delicious, and so are crackers and most fruits.  It’s hard to mess this up.  But people are generally very impressed with your ability to make this.

2 thoughts on “A Cheese Board

Leave a comment